Intellectual property rights (IPR) Cell

Intellectual property rights (IPR) refers to the legal rights given to the inventor or creator to protect his/her invention or creation for a certain period of time. These legal rights confer an exclusive right to the inventor/creator to fully utilize his/her invention/creation for a given period of time. The Union Cabinet approved the National Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) Policy on 12th May, 2016. The Policy recognizes to foster creative and innovative energies that flow in India, and to channelize these energies towards a better and brighter future ahead. The National IPR Policy is a vision document that encompasses and brings to a single platform all IPRs. In this direction, Garhbeta College initiated the formation of IPR Cell to encourage research and provide conducive environment to researchers.

The IPR cell of the college aims to create awareness on IPR among the stakeholders of the Institution.

Objectives:

- 1. To create awareness and educate on Intellectual Property Rights among the faculty and studentsof Garhbeta College.
- 2. To advice and guide faculty and students on the importance of IPR.
- 3. Toemerging faculty and students of the scope of Intellectual Property Rights (IPRs) as the three different dimensions of patent, copyright, trademark and trade secrets.
- 4. To guide both of faculty and students toamplify innovative ideas and activities that would lead to creation of IPR.
- 5. To arrange for seminars, workshop, symposium etc pertaining to IPR.
- 6. Any other matter related to the issues Intellectual Property Rights.

Committee Members

Dr. Hariprasad Sarkar, Chairperson

- 1. Dr. Rita Sil (Jt. Convenor)
- 2. Dr.PokhrajGuha (Jt. Convenor)
- 3. Prof. Swarup Rana (Jt. Convenor)
- 4. Dr. SantimoyPatra
- 5. Dr. Sushil Kumar Ghosh (IQAC Coordinator)
- 6. Dr. Kanchan Bag
- 7. Prof.Uttam Sarkar
- 8. Dr.SwatilekhaMaiti
- 9. Dr. RajlaxmiMukjherjee (Jt. Coordinator, NAAC Steering Committee)

- 10. Dr. Sajed Biswas (TCS)
- 11. Dr. Sk.SahanwajAlam
- 12. Dr. Arpita Banerjee (Jt. Coordinator, NAAC Steering Committee)
- 13. Dr. AnirbanBagui
- 14. Dr. Shampa Deb Chanda
- 15. Mr. PraloyBhattachharya
- 16. Dr. NilanjanaBhattachharyya, associate Professor in Bengali, Narajole Raj College (External Member)
- 17. Mr. DebasisDandapat
- 18. Mr. PintuLohar